Everyday Puns

Okay, can we just take a moment to appreciate the fact that just now, when chasing my dog with some leaves, I stopped dead and screamed ‘don’t leaf me!’ before throwing the leaves up into the air next to said dog? Then as she sat there, surrounded by leaves and completely confused, I proceeded to laugh and ask my friend, who had now walked over, why she “looked so stumped“? 
But no, I didn’t end there – I then continued, telling them that “just tree puns are never enough” and asking my friend if she was “barking mad”. As she responded with the whole “that joke was so bad it killed me” thing that is often used in the face of a pun, I kept going and told her “acorny joke never hurt anyone”. “Do you beleaf these puns are just me pineing for attention?” I asked, watching my friend who was now doubled over in laughter “I maple more out if they make you sappy?”

If I remember correctly, this conversation continued for around another ten minutes. I would share more of these overelming puns but alas, I remember no more.

Puns are one of my signature traits. I’ve no idea how it happened but a while back I just started making them and I guess I never stopped. [Edit – Well obviously I never stopped…would I be making this post if I had?]
 Originally it would take me a while to come up with one and they were a rare occurrence – now puns simply slip out and, though I hate to say it, some are possibly good? From simple and boring to a creative play on words, I must admit my pun game has improved and, though they hate to admit it, I’ve often had friends say so as well. Talking of my friends, my puns annoy them in extreme measures. Every now and then, however, even they will take a moment to appreciate the art that is a pun. No matter how angry it makes them, sometimes a high five is well deserved when a pun has been crafted.

What’s your opinion on puns? And I mean overall opinion because, as a pun lover myself, even I groan at some of the awful, awful ones people come up with. Honestly, some I make myself aren’t brilliant but I tend to (try) override them with something genuinely clever, not just trashy!

 

[DISCLAIMER – The puns at the start of the post do not necessarily count as amazing, they were simply the inspiration for this post so I thought I’d share! Also, please feel free to comment random puns in the comments! I’m almost 100% sure they’ll make me laugh and I just really want to hear some!!]

{___} My LifeOnline {04/12/16}

15 thoughts on “Everyday Puns

  1. LMAO I’m so glad that someone else has the same sense of humor as me. I knew someone out there had to appreciate those acorny puns ๐Ÿ˜‰ Your blog is super cute– I’m just starting out with mine but it’s good to know that a similar one like yours is successful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a huge fan of puns. I strive to share the most clever of puns, which like you said, definitely deserved a freaking high five, OR TEN, when you nail it. I do not nail them that often, sadly. The thing about puns is that even if they are horrible, the faces that you get to witness on those around you are priceless. I love to see the grimace from one, eye roll from another, and chuckle from the person who doesn’t have to take everything so serious all the time. What can I say, I just try to be punny to make people laugh.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am rather glad I came upun this post (Huh? Huh? Hehehe)
    I adore puns! The worse, the better. Although I appreciate the brilliant ones very much, there’s something about corny puns that appeels to me, you may say I’m bananas for them.
    Tree puns are a rather solid branch of pun artistry in my opinion, good job.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

