Ice Skating

Ahh, ice skating – One of my favourite things to do at this time,*cough* all times, of the year! Now, I am by no means an amazing ice skater, but I’d like to think I’m okay at it!
In a complete spur of the moment act whilst out with six of my friends yesterday, we decided to go skating on our local pop-up ice rink. Quickly paying and getting our skates, we stepped onto the ice and, though I hadn’t skated in a few years, I was surprised at how much I could remember! Sure, I started off with sticking to the side, giggling with my friends, but slowly I began to leave their side to edge slowly further towards the middle. Once my confidence on the ice had grown, I skated around backwards and even managed a few spins. 
The same, however, couldn’t be said for some of my friends.Two of the guys had never skated before so naturally, they couldn’t stop falling, one making a much bigger show of it and gaining a lot more attention and laughs than the other. In contrast, two others of the group could skate reasonably well, the guy showing a secret talent and the girl having had an advantage as she’d been skating the day before. The final two friends, to begin with, could skate around if they had something to hold onto but both improved with time, one slightly more than the other, though both did well. 
However, as time progressed, we all, minus the two guys who’d never skated before, skated to the middle for a group photo. Eventually, even the guys managed to join us as we stayed in the centre, even if it did involve one of them dramatically falling constantly, the other falling much less as they finally mastered the act of standing still or skating slowly.

To say we ruled the rink would be an understatement, the seven of us, all with varied skating ability, took up the entire centre of the rink, along with the pro skater who worked at there. By talking to this guy, whose name I never learnt, I even managed to get myself some work experience for next year!

Alright, little mini skating story here! [EDIT- Little mini? Really?] In an attempt to teach the ‘dramatic faller’ how to skate, the professional focused on taking baby steps with him whilst also helping me teach two of my friends to skate backwards. Wanting to join in on the fun and skate backwards too, the ‘dramatic faller’ attempted this and, you guessed it, dramatically fell. I distinctly remember the pro telling him, along with the other ‘first time skater’, to “focus on going forward before you try anything else” and making a sassy comment to ‘the dramatic faller’ which I, unfortunately, don’t remember.

In terms of falling on the ice and who fell, the two guys who hadn’t skated before fell countless times, the girl who went skating the day before and another girl fell two or three times and the guy with the hidden talent, me and the final girl in our group didn’t fall at all, which is surprising since ‘hidden talent guy’ and I spent a lot of time going backwards!

Skating with this group was one of the best things, in fact, I enjoyed skating so much that, as soon as I got home, I pre-booked a place for me and two others to go skating in a weeks time! And knowing that I likely would want to go again in January, to make the most of the ice rink before it’s taken down, I started making plans with a couple friends, including ‘the dramatic faller’ (who was only persuaded on the basis of ‘practice makes improvement’) and some others, who didn’t skate with us the first time, all of whom are looking forward to seeing us skate after having seen videos of me going backwards and him dramatically falling.

Unfortunately, on January the, uh, one second, I need to find out what day the ice rink shuts, hold on. Wait, that was stupid…you don’t need to hold on, what’s a few minutes for me is no time for you haha. Anyway, on January the 3rd the ice rink will be taken down, likely returning around the 10th of November 2017, and our nearest ice rink is hours away so not particularly convenient to go to. With my reborn love of ice skating, I obviously want to skate again in that time but I know there is no way I’ll be able to get to an ice rink more than a couple of times in the course of this coming year. I’m working on it though – no, I’m not going to be able to go ice skating and we don’t have any roller rinks nearby…so, why not learn outdoor roller skating? [EDIT: Turns out we do have a roller rink! I went the other day lol (April 2017)]

Look at me, being practical; accepting that I can’t ice skate nearby so finding an alternative! Sure, I’m going to have to save up for some outdoor roller skates but it’ll be worth it! And yes, outdoor roller skating isn’t the same as ice skating but if I go through with the work experience placement I was offered, I’ll get a free pass to the ice rink so I’ll be able to skate whenever I want, even if it’s only for the three months the rink is actually there.

Woah, I feel like this post was longer than usual? Almost 1000 words! Well, thanks for reading!! Make sure to comment any ice skating stories below if you’ve been skating and if you haven’t, well, comment whether you’d like to or not! Also, this probably doesn’t apply to many of you, but if any of you know where the best place to get some outdoor roller skates is, comment that below!!

{___} My LifeOnline {21/12/16}

35 thoughts on “Ice Skating

  1. First I fell on my face and split the skin above my eye, which we went in search of stitches for. And then I fell backwards and had concussion and they were worried that I may have brain damage… what about you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ouch! Glad you’re okay now πŸ™‚
      I was hit in the eye by a baton (remembering batons are metal, it was extremely painful) and was rushed to hospital as my optician believed my retina was going to break hence making me blind. Luckily it didn’t break, however, a part of my eye was injured but at the time they didn’t realise it. I ended up going back to hospital again a bit later as I noticed I could see black marks floating around and blocking my vision – Those floaters will never go but I’ve learnt to ignore them now and just put up with it! The damage to my eye luckily doesn’t affect my ability to get laser eye surgery in the future so even though the floaters won’t go, hopefully I won’t need contact lenses forever!

      Like

      1. Oh my Gosh!! That’s really scary. I feel so bad for you. I would hate it if that happened to me. You seem so positive about that. I admire your optimism! I guess you are lucky to avoid being blind.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Almost rhythmic gymnastics but not quite as though you do use props as well as the baton, it’s more focused on dancing just with the odd gym move! And yeah, I wish I could skate all the time! What did you do to end up in hospital?

      Like

  2. Falling shows that you are trying hard. ☺ I ice skate and even the best fall. I know a girl who does jumps with 2 to 3 rotations in and she must fall at least 10 times per session.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha I think in my friends cases it was lack of experience! And as we were on a public rink, none of us wanted to push ourselves too much for other people were always in the way and jumps would be an inconvenience

      Like

        1. I’ll make sure to tell them that! I, along with a couple others, didn’t actually fall even though we were skating backwards and I was attempting the odd spin – I think the others, who hadn’t skated before, were slightly disheartened and pushing themselves, hence falling

          Like

            1. Thank you! And as I don’t have a local rink all year round I only ever skate in the winter, however, I used to skate more when I was younger as we had a rink less than an hour away. When that was taken down, I didn’t go for about 3 years but I guess it’s like riding a bike because I soon picked it up again πŸ™‚

              Like

                    1. Haha it’s fine! Majorettes is a mix between dancing and gymnastics but with a baton – it’s extremely complicated as routines with the baton are difficult, especially throws and spins! It can also be dangerous as I unfortunately know all too well, I’ve been to hospital twice just because of it!

                      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have always, and I mean always, been hopeless at ice skating but your post oade me smile and laugh πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that you enjoyed it! I think the sport that’s similar to how you feel about skating, for me, is rock climbing and I need to start that up again. But it’s awesome you got work experience from it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure you’re not that bad! Thank you!! I’m (hopefully)going to be starting rock climbing next year, I’m currently on the waiting list for a place at our local club πŸ™‚
      And the work experience is awesome! I’m really looking forward to it!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never been ice skating. I always wanted to, but after I broke my tailbone I won’t even attempt it. I would be “lucky” enough to fall and break it again and I remember that pain well and try not to put myself in positions that it could happen. I’ve never even been roller skating or anything. Guess I was a deprived child. lol Of course, I’m kinda clumsy some days. My fam’s favorite thing to ask is “First day on new feet?”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ouch, that sounds painful! And I’ve never actually been roller skating, at least not properly – I was given a pair of inline roller skates a few years ago but never really used them due to me being so clumsy! Granted, I am still clumsy at times but I know I can ice skate pretty well so I’d happily try roller skating πŸ™‚
      “First day on new feet” – OMG the amount of times I’ve heard, or said, that! In fact, I think the pro skater said that to one of the guys when we went skating!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Im surprised you can pre book ice skating tickets in your town! Mine has two outdoor rinks, which is more difficult because you can only last so long out in the cold. It’s a great date idea though, especially if you cuddle up with hot cocoa after. We used to have a roller blading rink but I believe it closed down. The next best summer activity would probably be go karts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Luckily, we’re able to pre-book and pay for tickets online πŸ™‚ And the ice-rink I was skating on was actually an outdoor one! It’s cold but 100% worth it!
      Ooh yeah, that would be a good date idea but also a lot of fun with friends. I believe we also had a roller skating rink but I’m not completely certain, I also love go karts but have no local place to do that either 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The only time I’ve gone ice skating was on one of the most magical nights of my life! It’s a memory I share with my ex, but it still brings a smile to my face. It was New Year’s eve, and after dinner (before the ball drop), we went ice skating in an outdoor rink that was playing It’s a Wonderful life on a blowup movie screen. We were with my ex’s brother and his pregnant wife, so while the guys were racing each other around the rink, I stayed with Mrs. Pregers to make sure she didn’t fall. Sounds a little boring when I write about it, but I had a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

