No Make-Up

Not wearing makeup – shouldn’t be a big deal, right? Well, to those of us who aren’t comfortable in our skin, it is. I wear makeup almost always when I go out – not to impress anyone, for that would be pointless, but for me. 
Cliche, cliche, cliche: who cares? It’s true, I wear makeup for me, but that doesn’t mean I feel comfortable without it. Like yeah, at home I barely wear it, for example, I’m not wearing any right now, and unless I’m messing around with a new eyeshadow look, it’s not something I bother with on lazy days, but I’ve wore it to school practically every day for who knows how long. 
Even so, today, [EDIT- whoops, this was written a long time ago now!] I decided to jump out of my comfort zone and go bare face to school because, well, we all need to push ourselves sometimes! After all, even if it only boosts my confidence a little, it’s still worth it, right?

The way I’ve described it above, it sounds as if I never go out without makeup, huh? Well, that’s not true – there have been many times I’ve met up with friends or gone out and not bothered, I’ve just never gone completely bare faced to school! I say completely bare-faced because I wear very little makeup as it is – concealer, powder, mascara – to school, sometimes a nicely blended eyeshadow look. As I’m lucky enough to have visible eyebrows, I don’t fill those in and also steer clear from foundations in the fear of looking cakey.

Anyway, yeah, yeah, no makeup, no big deal, I get it! And maybe it might not have been if it wasn’t for the trouble I’ve been having with my skin recently, but still, I did it and you know what? It wasn’t that bad! I was expecting people to comment on it. 
Looking back, it was probably slightly conceited of me to think anyone would actually care when in actual fact all the problems I’d thought up surrounding others people’s judgement were all in my head. In the end, only one person did mention it, simply asking if I was wearing makeup that day and then adding that it didn’t look bad.

So there we have it, maybe pushing yourself to go out of your comfort zone really can be a benefit! I will say, now that I’ve done this I honestly don’t care at all about going to school without makeup and I do it so often!

Thank you for reading! Comment below your experiences with makeup, whether you wear it or not!
{661} My LifeOnline 28/01/16}

46 thoughts on “No Make-Up

  1. Nice! This inspired me for a furure post.πŸ™‚
    I don’t wear makeup besides lipstick, mainly because I don’t know how to do it myself lol! My friend tried to do it once in high school and I didn’t like it. I had it done once more by a friends mom after I graduated and loved it. I am comfortable going everyday without makeup but I would like to get into it sometime, just to enhance the beauty I have already

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yess that’s when it becomes a problem when you look like a completely different person. I’ve known a few people like that and they were so stuck up and conceited. Talking down on others, but it makes them feel better about the insecurities they have for themselves. I also think social media plays a huge part because you go on instagram or facebook and you see all the make up artists, models and what society says beautiful is. Everyone is trying to look like or look better than who they saw, what they saw, compete with how others are looking. It’s all about acceptance from others these days.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes! I know so many people who play on others insecurities to make them self feel more adequate but it’s not big or cool, just horrible. Social media is definitely a big part of it, no one shows their flaws creating an image of perfection which everyone else pursues and then feels awful when they can’t…people hurt themselves in order to be accepted by society, trying to fix what they see as their ‘flaws’ when in actual fact it’s society that needs fixing…

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Thank you πŸ™‚ And I’m actually planning on writing a blog post about it! But yes, every little thing society and social media brand as a flaw is just adding to people’s insecurities which just shouldn’t be happening anymore…

              Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG… I am the exact same… The products you use on a daily basis are almost identical with what I use. I almost always wear makeup when I go out too (and it’s not to impress anyone either, rather it’s a comfort thing). For me, makeup is like clothes: if I don’t put any on, I feel like I’m naked! Good on you for stepping outside your comfort zone! It’s important to challenge ourselves from time-to-time, even if it’s something (other’s would say is) “small,” because to remain entirely in our comfort zone is limiting us of experiences. πŸ™‚ On another note, it’s funny isn’t it, how much thought we put behind our actions, that other’s don’t even notice? Many people can’t tell the difference, or if they can, they don’t think too much about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s funny how the term “go bare-faced” is an actual thing, these days. Like it’s not normal to just…be you without any kind of powder or gel smeared across your skin?
    “I’ve wore it to school practically every day for who knows how long.”
    Why? I know, a lot of girls do this, it’s a normal thing and all, but since I’ve got the opportunity to ask… Honestly, school is the last place I’d think of wearing any make-up at all. In my experience, at least, if you’re going to apply something on your face, do for a situation where you’ll have the opportunity that’s worth presenting yourself in a neater way (I don’t know, a social gathering, for example). School is a trashy place, and not worth putting effort into make-up for. (My own public school is trashy, at any rate. Can’t speak for anyone else’s).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is strange how the term “bare-faced” has become a thing but I guess it’s just come with society adapting? And to answer your question of why…well, because wearing makeup gives people a little more confidence and putting it on in the morning prepares us for the day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Guess what – I thought, what the heck, I’ll try to put make-up on. So, last night I ended up covering my whole face in blue eyeshadow. I just thought it looked cool. I’ve never had a blue face before. I should do it more often.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I have worn make-up since the beginning of year 7 due to severe acne and even though my skin is now relatively clear I still don’t possess the self confidence to go out in public without makeup on. It’s nice to know other people feel the same πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this post. I actually wear foundation, concealer, powder, blusher, eyeshadow, eyeliner and mascara most days. I feel so naked without it and am seriously so self-conscious about my skin. It’s not that I have really bad skin I just break out sometimes and I really don’t like my face without make up. I can’t leave the house without it on. I don’t do it for anybody else, just myself as it gives me confidence and makes me feel good. It’s nice to read something that doesn’t shine a negative light on wearing make up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And I completely understand the whole feeling bare without makeup, I’m exactly the same! I find that often people assume that wearing makeup is to impress others but in actual fact it’s usually for our own benefit, whether it be having confidence and feeling good to just having some fun!

      Like

  6. This might seem weird of me to say, but I’m the opposite: I never, ever used to wear makeup, because I felt insecure and scared of looking stupid. However, in the last year, I’ve been confident enough to put it on, and enjoyed it: it’s also because I’ve been feeling less confident in my skin, but I mainly use makeup as just an extra thing: I could put it on, but I don’t HAVE to; I use it on more special occasions but I’m glad I took the step to stop being afraid of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was like that as well, I used to never wear it, I guess because I didn’t know how? I’m glad I started wearing it too aha, it’s a little added boost in helping me feel a little more confident but also a way of feeling ready to face the day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s such a good way of looking at things! I need to start doing that too πŸ™‚ it’s just there’s so much to do and there are so many brushes and so much make up AAAAHHH!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I barely wear makeup. I prefer to be natural-looking. I only wear it on occasions & when I want to dress to impress sometimes. My idea of makeup is blusher, some nice eyeshadow & lipgloss or lipstick. I don’t have mascara, foundation, concealer & I only have 5 lipsticks/lipgloss – all in natural pink shades! For school I only put lipbalm & some blusher because I have plae white skin! I’m not like the rest of the girls in my grade who have dark red lipsticks & carry a makeup bag the size of a saucepan, but I’m proud of that! I totally agree with you about how the magic happens when we get out of our comfort zones & that we need to do that more often! Great & Interesting Post! 😊❀ (check out my latest blog post if you don’t mind)πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too- my bag usually has a small mirror, lipgloss & lipbalm. That’s about it! It’s my pleasure! 😊😊 btw I’m doing a Q&A post on my blog soon! Do you have any questions for me? If yes, comment them on my last post! 😍 Thanks! πŸ’–πŸ˜

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post!
    And as for makeup, I kinda want to wear it, so I feel confident in myself and how I look. I wanna wear it for myself but I’m scared once I actually get some I won’t apply it well and everyone will be able to tell I’m wearing makeup….and failed at it. How did you start wearing makeup and how did you become good at it? Help!😭

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And I used to be like that haha but now I’ve learnt the ways of blending eye shadow and concealer! You don’t need makeup but if you want to wear it I recommend starting small, all you really need is a concealer, beauty blender and some mascara to begin with – It comes with practice and time, I promise!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I began wearing makeup daily at 14, and have worn it ever since – I’m now 52. I was goth for a long time, and I liked how that make-up was a mask to hide behind. To a certain extent, it always has been. It has only been in the last year or so that I have begun decreasing the amount I wear and even not wearing make-up at home – when I say I wore make-up daily, I meant it – even if I was at home doing nothing. I used to leave my make-up on overnight, even if I was sleeping alone, then take it off and re-apply each morning, so that if anyone saw me in the middle of the night, I’d still have some make-up on! If I go out to an event of some kind, even a family thing, I will always do a full face of make-up. There have been a couple of times over the past year that I’ve ventured out without make-up on, to the local shop, and a dash to hospital when my mum was taken ill, and I’ve been surprised to find the world didn’t end. I do feel self conscious without it though. At the moment, I will go to hydro without foundation (I only wear a light-coverage one to work anyway), and with just waterproof mascara and a hint of eyeliner, but I would never consider going to work without any make-up on at all. I wear it for me, but I suspect I wear it as *protection* for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woah, that’s a long time! And I agree, often make-up is like a mask – I look completely different with and without it! I will say I’ve never slept in my makeup though, even if i do feel self-conscious when I’m not wearing it. Thank you for this comment!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think lots of people wear foundation that is too dark. To choose the right colour, test it on your jawline – the right shade will seem invisible, because the idea is to even out skin tones, not change your face colour (someone tell Donald Trump).

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

