Phone Calls

I, like many people my age, really hate making phone calls. However, sometimes it’s just a fact of life that you’re just going to have to grin and bare it…or more, grimace and overthink it.

So, the other day I had to make an important phone call. What it was about is irrelevant but it was  important I didn’t mess up. Naturally, I wrote a list [EDIT: Sometimes I swear I’m turning into my mum] and worked out the topics I needed to address. 

Once I’d finally plucked up the courage to phone the number, you’ll never guess what happened. That’s right, the person I was phoning didn’t even answer. With no idea what to do about that, I emailed them to say I’d tried to phone and that I’d try again tomorrow.

Two days later, I gathered the confidence to phone again. This time, the person answered but they couldn’t talk at that moment and asked if I could call back in half an hour. Looking back I’m sensing a theme here, I originally said a day yet it took me two and then when I was meant to call back in half an hour, I didn’t until an hour later just in case.

Hallelujah, this time the person answered and you know what? The phone call wasn’t even that bad! I definitely overthought it, however, I still don’t like phone calls. Or at least, I don’t like most phone calls: I called my friend the other day because I saw a really cute puppy and just felt the need to tell her.

Do you like to make phone calls? Or are you more like me and only make important them when you have to (or to tell someone about a puppy which is also pretty important)? Comment below!

{915} My LifeOnline {11/04/17}

24 thoughts on “Phone Calls

  1. I actually really like making them, except when they’re to important people. When I’m talking to friends I’m completely comfortable 🙂 this was such a good post – I’m proud of you for being confident!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I overthink phone calls so much also! While the phone is ringing my hands literally start to sweat. Sometimes I have to call my teachers (I do online school) and I sit there hoping they don’t answer. They always do though.
    I’m way more better at texting haha

    Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes! I feel like you’re a completely different person when talking on a phone when you’re not necessarily close to them. You kind of have a different voice and everything so where you’re around someone who actually knows you.. it’s just awkward and you know they’re sitting there just thinking “why are they talking like that?”

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I despise making phone calls. As a freelance journalist, this is like the worst thing. But it usually makes things so much easier when I just stop my brain and do it.

    I have to say that there have definitely been days where I write on my to-do list to call X and I’ll move it from Monday to Tuesday to Wednesday and finally do it Thursday night and when it’s over I wonder why the hell I even worried.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I. hate. making phone calls too! Recently I’ve had to make a load of phone calls for a school project, and it’s been a bit stressful. I can definitely relate to this post! I even have a draft for a post I’m going to make on how much I hate phone calls lol. It’s great to hear that your phone call went well! A lot of times our fears are disproportional to the real thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

