Thoughts Baking

I feel like baking today so you know what? I’m going to spend an entire day baking! 

Hopefully today’s one of those days where I’m actually successful – I have days where everything I make goes perfectly and days where I burn waffles in a toaster (true story, unfortunately).

Hmm, what first? I’ve gone through two of my recipe books and bookmarked about seven things but I doubt I’ll be able to make them all

Saying that, I originally had around twenty things but I managed to narrow those down

I think I’m going to make honey comb first so I can leave it to cool when I start the next thing?

Ooh, I’ll make all the things that need to go in the fridge or freezer first so that they can cool all day

Honey comb is done and it was actually pretty successful!

I should probably pack up and wash everything I just used before I start the next thing

The next recipe is for raspberry mouse but I used to make this so much I’m not even going to bother with the recipe 

Fun fact: I made this in a food tech assessment (last year when I still took food tech as a subject) and got the highest marks in my class; I just remember my teacher being shocked at how quickly I made them and how I didn’t use a recipe. Actually, I think I got bonus marks for presentation, speed and accuracy (maybe even points for not using the recipe)

Slight issue, I don’t actually have half the ingredients, including raspberries

Oh well, I’ll improvise

I tend to only use recipes for the measurements and I never follow the method, sometimes I go so far as to not even read the method and just make it up! It’s probably the reason why some things I bake are amazing and others have to be binned

This wasn’t planned but I just made a nacho sauce so that I can have nachos for lunch

Back to baking: I’m currently looking for a fruit to replace the raspberries 

Actually, I’m going to temporarily pause the mouse because I can go and buy raspberries later

Hmm, choc-chip cookies, carrot muffins, fudge, cheese biscuits or chocolate truffles?

I think cheese biscuits because they’re yet another thing I can make without any recipe at all

Actually, I’ll do both the fudge and the biscuits at the same time because productivity 

My mum made brownies this morning too so by the end of the day we’re going to have an entire table covered with freshly baked food

Why is icing sugar so messy 

I need 450g of icing sugar but I only have 150g so ummm, I’m gonna have to find a way around this 

 

I’m going to divide everything in the recipe by three (yay for maths)

I think that’s worked, I mean, it looks how it should and the mixture tastes good

Yep, they’re good, my family taste tested the mixture – to the fridge it is!!

Onto the cheese biscuits!

Recipe: This makes 15 biscuits

Me: *Makes 50 biscuits*

No idea how I managed to make 50 but I mean, the more the merrier!

It. All. Tastes. So. Good.

Whooo, I was actually successful with all my baking for once!

Can you guys bake or cook? Which do you prefer? Tell me your stories in the comments!!

{967} My LifeOnline {18/04/17}

23 thoughts on “Thoughts Baking

  1. My New Year’s Resolution this year was to learn how to cook. I graduated college with my undergraduate degree almost two years ago and I’m still relying on fast food and take out for most of my meals. I’ve been baking since I was a kid, and learning to cook has started to rekindle the love of baking. I baked some yummy cupcakes for Easter this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ugh all these ppl say they love to bake but BOI I REMEMBER WHEN I WAS A LITTLE KID I BURNT THE TOAST AND I STARTED CRYING BECAUSE I DIDN’T KNOW HOW TO USE A TOASTER THEN (i do now btw, i actually burnt my toast the other day lol)

    NOW LIKE A YEAR AGO I TRIED COOKING CHICKEN AND I BURNT MY HAND AND STARTED CRYING AGAIN AND I HAVEN’T TOUCHED ANYTHING RELATED TO COOKING OR BAKING SINCE THEN IT’S FUCKING TERRIFYING

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha omg thank youuu (I’m not but shh, I’m always being told I need to learn to take a compliment lol)
      And trust me, I know the feelings – I burnt waffles in a toaster and accidentally liquidised cheese in a microwave once so I definitely have off days! (Also, nachos are the best omg) ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

