10 Things You NEED In Your Room

As an interior design lover who is currently in the process of completely revamping their room, I thought it would be the perfect time for me to share my top room decor items! Without further ado, here are my top 10:

  • Fairy Lights:

Fairy lights are definitely one of the main features of my room! I’ve actually had to cut down on them recently (three sets of fairy lights decorating one picture is WAY too excessive), so now the fairy lights look elegant, rather than tacky!

  • Pictures:

Another prominent feature in my room is photos! Framed photos of family, cute polaroids with friends, prints of my own photography: pictures are everywhere! In order to not have too many photos taking up all your space, I recommend an electronic photo frame such as this Aura Frame. These frames are perfect if you have little space to work with, as well as being an amazing feature in a room with lots of space!

  • A Music Player:

Yes, you can play music on your phone, but I love having some form of music player in my room! Whether it’s a wireless bluetooth speaker, a radio, or a record player: music players definitely add something to a previously bland room! Personally, I have a record player; the collection of vinyls looks gorgeous too!

  • Polaroids:

Though I briefly touched on polaroids earlier on in this post, I wanted to mention them again as I love them so much! My favourite way of displaying polaroids is definitely to have them strung along fairy lights! Alongside the actual polaroids, having a polaroid printer or camera displayed in your room always looks good! However, if you don’t have the space for polaroids, an Aura Frame looks amazing!

  • A Colour Scheme:

Though not an item in itself, having a colour scheme in your room makes everything look so much more neat and put together! I chose to base my room around the colours copper and white, though lately a lot of that white has been replaced with marble.

  • A Desk:

Now, though most rooms have a desk, it only adds something to the room if it’s neatly organised. Currently, my desk has a white and copper light box, a marble notebook, a copper plant, a marble pencil case and a copper candle, alongside my makeup!

  •  Storage

Speaking of makeup, I keep mine stored in a glass cosmetic organiser, with all the makeup with copper packaging in view at the top (to keep with my theme). I then store all of my copper makeup brushes in a white jar. In regards to other methods of storage, I strongly recommend DIYing: I took an old magazine rack and made it look brand new by painting a marble print onto it!

  •  A Bookshelf

As an avid reader, my book shelf used to be crammed full of books messily stuffed onto a cluttered shelf. Now, I make sure that none of my copper ornaments are placed in front of books  (these have their own place on the top two shelves), and my books are neatly arranged. Two shelves are ordered by colour (which I must say is extremely satisfying to look at), a third shelf is ordered by series (so that collections of books such as Harry Potter aren’t split up), and the final shelf is for larger books and in height order.

  •  Cushions:

Sure, cushions can get annoying at night when you want to sleep on your bed, but in the day time they look brilliant! Having a perfectly made bed, complete with cushions, always makes a room look tidier and more put together.

    •  A Mirror:

    Finally, the last thing on my list is a mirror! In small rooms, a mirror can be used to give the idea of more space, but in larger rooms it makes a perfect decoration!

      I hope this gave you some ideas and inspiration for your own room! Comment below what item or area of your room is your favourite, I’d love to know! Also, a big thanks to Aura Frames for being the inspiration behind this post!

      ~becca

        30 thoughts on “10 Things You NEED In Your Room

        1. I am DIY-ing my room right now, so I put up a twine above my bed and started putting pictures on that with pegs… it looks really cute. The colour scheme for my room is yellow and white. I am not a huge fan of the colour yellow, but in the mornings since my room in on the east wing of our house, it gets very sunshiny and cheery! I also put a fluffy arm chair on the corner of my room next to a bookshelf to make a reading nook… it’s my favourite thing about my room.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. The colour scheme in my room is blue and white: I can’t have it too feminine because it is my boyfriend’s room as well! You have lots of great ideas here 😊. Have you promoted your blog in any Facebook groups before? I have just created one called Blogs In Bloom- I would love to have you as a member 😊. I have a blog post about it if you need more information. Thanks 💕 .

          https://www.facebook.com/groups/1894424554140611/

          Liked by 2 people

        3. I looooove this post! I’m also happy to say that I ticked off 7/10 things. I don’t have photos (or polaroids) in my room because I have them all over my home, and same with my bookshelf-it’s in my living room. X

          Liked by 1 person

        4. I want a desk soooooooooooooooo bad; I don’t think I can stress this enough, I just don’t have anywhere to put it….at least not right now. And fairy lights are so magical, they make everything more romantic and are the perfect compliment to any space! Great post! xoxo

          Liked by 2 people

        Leave a Reply

        